A Room With a Southern View

Thoughts on Life and Liberty from an Average Middle-Class Kentuckian

Pet Peeve: Mean Dogs

on August 15, 2012

We have new neighbors. Our new neighbors have two very large, very loud German Shepherds.  They are beautiful dogs. They remind me of the German Shepherd I had as a kid. He was big, and vicious, and he would have gone through Hell fire for me. I loved that dog, as I’m sure my neighbors love their dogs.

I don’t love my neighbors’ dogs. I almost hate them. Every time I step out into my backyard, I am assaulted with loud, aggressive barking–times two.  One dog is tied on a chain, which is another pet peeve of mine.  The other dog is restrained simply by an underground fence. So when I go out to check on my tomatoes, or my daughter goes out to retrieve her bicycle from the garage we see an eighty pound German Shepherd running toward us snarling and barking with nothing visible between us.  Then it stops and continues to bark, while the other lunges against its chain.

I worry because my Shepherd was on a chain, back 35 years ago before people had kennels, and underground fences.  He broke his chain and heavy duty collar several times. He came close to attacking people several times. Viciousness was in his blood. His grandparents were junkyard dogs. His parents were feared guard dogs.  His brothers and sisters left many scarred.  I finally had to find him a new home, because the risk to others was too great.

I worry because my parents’ neighbor had a German Shepherd. She was a friendly dog that liked people. He got her an underground fence to keep her from roaming the neighborhood.  She liked to roam, so she just ran through the “shock zone” of the fence. To prevent this, her owner got a “stubborn dog” collar, with much more shocking power. The first time she approached the underground fence the power of it brought her to her knees. Did this stop her? No. She just figured that she had to get a bigger run at it next time. And so she did. He finally had to put her in a 10 x 12 kennel in their back yard.

Such is the nature of a German Shepherd. They are fierce in everything they do. They are fierce in loyalty and love and defense of their human families. They are equally fierce in aggression toward any perceived threat. They are fierce in their playtime. They will never give in or give up once they focus on a task.  This is why they make such excellent police dogs. The only way to stop a German Shepherd attack is to kill it, unless you are its master and command it to  stop. Even then, it’s not a certainty. I don’t think underground fence is a proper restraint for a dog like that. I believe it’s just a matter of time before it escapes.

So what are we going to do about these scary, vicious animals? How are we going to prevent them from possibly getting loose and attacking one of us?

Build a fence.  Soon.

Your Comments Are Appreciated

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

My Kentucky Living

Thoughts on Life and Liberty from an Average Middle-Class Kentuckian

deadlines amuse me

exploring how the world works and why it works that way ...

Live and Let Hike

An incomplete guide to hiking Utah, Colorado, Virginia, and beyond

Missouri Girl In a Utah World

Seeing What the Wild West Holds for me

Rabbit Lane

Memoir of a Country Road (by Roger Baker)

romancingtheclassics

One girl's journey to read the top 100 literature classics of all time in the space of 365 days, a quest for only the most foolhardy and brave

A Certain Point of View

Alistair Lane - Writer, Poet, Daydreamer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

McClure Writing Service

All the world's a page, and I the pen.

Shall Speak

Quietly speaking up about things

Desert Musings

A REALISTIC look at the world through the eyes of a sane person

12 Week Weight Loss Course

Losing Weight & Looking Great!

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

