A Room With a Southern View

Thoughts on Life and Liberty from an Average Middle-Class Kentuckian

Psalms 118:24

on July 15, 2014

This is the day the Lord has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

20APR2~2

 

Since I’m not expecting to win the lottery any time soon, (you gotta play to win) I’ve decided that I must find joy in what I have, here and now. Count my blessings, you know?

I have a good Christian husband, that doesn’t run around. He goes to work and comes home, and I don’t have to worry about where he is or who he’s with.  I have two good kids who’ve both accepted Jesus. They are smart, talented, and have plans for their futures. I also have good Christian family and friends.  I have good neighbors.  I have a comfortable home, albeit small and old but it has good bones. It’s dry and warm in winter, and cool in summer.

My post from yesterday got me to thinking about money, and what we could do when we don’t have enough. What sort of activities can we find that don’t cost much or anything?  Then I realized, how stupid of me, I live in Kentucky! I’ve got one of the most beautiful places on Earth just outside my door.

Sure if I lived in a big city I’d have museums, galleries, theaters, etc. to visit – all man-made things. But here in Kentucky we have the works of the greatest creative mind ever! God Himself!

There is natural beauty everywhere. Art. History. Mysteries. Ghosts and goblins.  We can go for a walk in the mountains, in the woods, go fishing in a lake or river, listen to a concert, or get away from it all.  You’re only concern is how to get there – car, 4×4, boat, RV, ATV, bicycle, or your own two feet.

And the people of Kentucky are the best!  I have to admit that the world has had its influence on the larger cities and towns.  But the small towns are still bastions of Christian fellowship.  You can go to any small town in the state and walk into the local gas station or grocery store and feel right at home. I feel blessed to live in a place like this, where I can go into a restaurant or store and hear Christian music playing over the sound system.  You may not be Christian, and may be offended by that, by it means the world to me.  I feel richly blessed to live in a place where you can walk down the street and still hear, “Have a blessed day,” “God bless you,” “I’ll pray for you,” or “See you in church.”  If your car breaks down in a small Kentucky town in the ‘middle of nowhere’ you’re likely to have to turn people away who are eager to help you.  I imagine there aren’t too many places like that in the world today.

I may not have a lot of money to spend on entertainment and activities, but thank God I live in a place that offers so much for po’ folks to do.

 

 

 

Your Comments Are Appreciated

romancingtheclassics

One girl's journey to read the top 100 literature classics of all time in the space of 365 days, a quest for only the most foolhardy and brave

A Certain Point of View

Alistair Lane - Writer, Poet, Daydreamer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

McClure Writing Service

All the world's a page, and I the pen.

Shall Speak

Quietly speaking up about things

Desert Musings

A REALISTIC look at the world through the eyes of a sane person

12 Week Weight Loss Course

Losing Weight & Looking Great!

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Wordsmith's Desk

some thoughts along the way

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Investing in a Child

An investment you won't regret

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Modern Fire

Stories and Ideas In My Head

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Bloor Lansdowne Christian Fellowship

Ministering the Gospel of Jesus In The Heart of Toronto

