A Room With a Southern View

Thoughts on Life and Liberty from an Average Middle-Class Kentuckian

Daily Post Prompt: Unlikely Pairing

on August 4, 2014

Today’s WordPress Daily Post prompt asks, “Bacon and chocolate, caramel and cheddar… Is there an unorthodox food pairing you really enjoy? Share with us the weirdest combo you’re willing to admit that you like — and how you discovered it.”

The prompt did its job.  It got me to thinking. WordPress contributors are worldwide; and food tastes are as varied as the people and cultures they originate in–  balut (live duck embryo boiled in the shell) in Philippines; giant grub worms in Australia; fried scorpions in China.  There is a lot of so-called weird food in the world!  Whenever you hear the word “delicacy” you can bet it’s going to be a “weird” food, such as the ones I named above.

Here in Kentucky, we eat things that others would find strange:  squirrel, deer, possum, groundhog, chitterlings (aka “chittlin’s”), pig knuckles, pork brains, fried “baloney”, cheese grits, poke salad, wilted lettuce, etc. Now I don’t eat all these things, just some, but I know people who do. Did you find any of these foods weird?  I’ll bet you did.

Today’s prompt took the weird food debate one step further. It asks about food combinations: foods that are strange because of their pairings, such as the candy bar I saw the other day– dark chocolate with red chiles. I think that is strange!

My husband likes to put ketchup on his scrambled eggs, which I think is strange and revolting.  I like salsa on my scrambled eggs, which my husband thinks is weird.

I had a childhood friend that liked to drink a mixture of milk and orange juice.  The juice instantly curdled the milk, and created a lumpy sour drink. Disgusting!

Another recipe from my childhood that my husband finds strange is my peanut butter, pickles, and mayo sandwich. I grew up eating this, so I don’t think it’s weird at all.

I think food and food combinations are simply a matter of cultural influence and personal taste. What’s weird to you is an old family recipe to me, and vice versa.

 

Your Comments Are Appreciated

romancingtheclassics

One girl's journey to read the top 100 literature classics of all time in the space of 365 days, a quest for only the most foolhardy and brave

A Certain Point of View

Alistair Lane - Writer, Poet, Daydreamer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

McClure Writing Service

All the world's a page, and I the pen.

Shall Speak

Quietly speaking up about things

Desert Musings

A REALISTIC look at the world through the eyes of a sane person

12 Week Weight Loss Course

Losing Weight & Looking Great!

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Wordsmith's Desk

some thoughts along the way

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Investing in a Child

An investment you won't regret

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Modern Fire

Stories and Ideas In My Head

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Bloor Lansdowne Christian Fellowship

Ministering the Gospel of Jesus In The Heart of Toronto

