A Room With a Southern View

Thoughts on Life and Liberty from an Average Middle-Class Kentuckian

A Writer’s Life

on June 11, 2016

I’m sitting here in my living room with just my coffee for company this morning. Even my cat has made herself scarce! I think I enjoy these quiet lonely mornings more than I should, then I remember, “I’m a writer!”

What is it about us writers that make us long for alone time? We all value the time that we can be away from the real world, and socialize with all the characters in our heads. We live our lives in paper and ink.

Although computers have made writing, editing, and publishing easier than ever, there’s nothing quite like taking pen in hand and creating a new world on sheets of paper. I’m from the old school, before computers, and I have the telltale writers’ callouses to prove it. I spent my youth reading everything, and writing anything.

Marriage and motherhood have taken the place of most of my writing time for the past twenty-five years, as is proper. Now that my kids are grown, or nearly so, and we’re 29 years married, I find that I’m fighting harder for me-time. The urge to create is growing in me once again. I need to write!

I dream of a secluded cabin on a mountain where I can escape with my pens, paper, and laptop, where the solitude and sweeping vistas open my mind to new worlds only I can see, until I share them in print.  My cat is there, and perhaps my dog. I stay for a few days or a week, and spend my days in deep rumination, escaping the clamor of family life, drinking coffee or iced tea or an occasional glass of wine, writing and researching, developing characters and concocting plot twists, relaxing and meditating, taking long walks and rediscovering my inner voice. For now, it’s only a dream.

For now, I sit here on the sofa, cars passing outside, my husband walking through to go outside to work on the camper. He just called for assistance; and my daughter is awake and  wanting breakfast. Soon my son will be in here watching tv.

Me-time is over, but I did pretty well today. I got a whole hour!

Your Comments Are Appreciated

Kentucky Mountain Girl News by Henrietta Asher Handy

Living one wheel revolution at a time. Copyright 2000-2017 by Henrietta Asher Handy

My Kentucky Living

Thoughts on Life and Liberty from an Average Middle-Class Kentuckian

deadlines amuse me

exploring how the world works and why it works that way ...

Live and Let Hike

An incomplete guide to hiking Utah, Colorado, Virginia, and beyond

Missouri Girl In a Utah World

Seeing What the Wild West Holds for me

Rabbit Lane

Memoir of a Country Road (by Roger Baker)

romancingtheclassics

One girl's journey to read the top 100 literature classics of all time in the space of 365 days, a quest for only the most foolhardy and brave

A Certain Point of View

Alistair Lane - Writer, Poet, Daydreamer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

McClure Writing Service

All the world's a page, and I the pen.

Shall Speak

Quietly speaking up about things

Desert Musings

A REALISTIC look at the world through the eyes of a sane person

12 Week Weight Loss Course

Losing Weight & Looking Great!

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

